FalconAge

Can We Extend Tyeler Davidson Now?

77 posts in this topic

Let me say, I wasn't the biggest fan of our 2019 draft. 

I was so concerned about our weakness in the middle of the D-line that I wanted a big nasty with moves as our first pick. A long, prototypical defensive end to bookend Takk should he fully transition to Leo was my second best option at 17.

You can imagine how frustrated I was when we missed out on a first round haul that could have included Dexter Lawrence AND Montez Sweat, which I think would have given us the most talented line in the NFL, including the Rams/Eagles.

That said, watching Davidson occupy space AND bring pressure on the QB has made me feel a ton better about our prospects on D. A guy who can plug and penetrate is a force multiplier for the entire line, which in turn can make a good secondary into a great one.

I am not an expert on NFL contracts, and indeed it is quite early, but could we possibly extend our impressive  free agent, for a couple more years?

I'm worried that after a few more showings like Sunday Night Football, he's gonna be too expensive to keep.

Contract experts, is this possible?

I'm with you man. I'd be more than happy to see him with a 4 year deal.

Saying that, great rosters are built on pickups like this. Bargain basement, maximum impact in a given role. End of the year we will have the talk, if he's balled out we give him a fair offer. If he's got half the league after him, sadly he walks, but we collect our comp pick. The throne of ease up in Boston are rather good at this...

Howwwwever. Big Ty should be wearing black and red for a while. So the fan in me says yes, lock him up ASAP.

11 minutes ago, Ovie_Lover said:

Coming in you could see he was a great run defender but **** his pass rush was way better than I've ever seen from him.