Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
RichardCNile

The good, the bad and the Ugly - 2019 draft edition

32 posts in this topic

I’m no draft expert. I’m like most of you who are avid fans.  I can’t tell you if player x should be drafted 19th instead of 14th, so this doesn’t focus on that.  What’s done is done.  We drafted and so did all the other teams.  So what does it mean now to falcon fans like you and I?

The Good

1. An Offensive Draft -  Like it or not, while we have talked about the Falcons becoming a defensive team; we are now 100% officially an offensive team.  Our identity is offense.  We will live or die on offense over the next 3-5 years which is what many consider our (window) for a SB victory.  

2.  No unicorns - From various post and pre draft reports, the falcons wanted to and did make efforts to trade up and grab a defensive player, but were not willing to give away too much to move up to those spots.  I wanted an O-lineman, but like many of you would love, love, love to see a monster DE or DT that can crush or opponents QB on every 3rd down of the game....heck, even 50% of the third downs would be nice.  However, I think these guys are Unicorns.  They don’t really exist.  Ya, Kalil Mack and a few others are elite pass rushers, but even they get stonewalled against good teams who scheme to add protection or throw the ball quickly.  If opponents can execute these and other tactics, they negate your best player.  With that said, how many teams have an elite pass rusher?  Maybe 3 or 4 teams?   That’s why I say these guys are Unicorns.  They can’t be found, but everyone keeps trying to find them by drafting what they hope will be the next elite pass rusher.