Can we ALL once AGREE?

9 minutes ago, since68andcounting said:

Well, I'm no cap expert. But it seems unloading a higher contract (Trufant) and keeping a lower one (Alford) would be a better cap move, idk.

It doesn't work that way. You can't just give someone a contact with a bunch of guaranteed money and then trade or cut all of that away. If we cut him, we'd be on the hook for $27.5m in dead cap over the next 2 years. If we trade him, it's $19m in dead cap.

In layman's terms the signing bonus money that whilst paid in a lump sum to Trufant, is prorated over the length of the contract. Any team that trades for him would not be liable to pick that up.

Alford on the other hand could be cut or traded this coming offseason with minimal cap implications as most of his guaranteed money within his contract has already been paid and accounted for in previous cap hits.

48 minutes ago, Smiler11 said:

It doesn't work that way. You can't just give someone a contact with a bunch of guaranteed money and then trade or cut all of that away. If we cut him, we'd be on the hook for $27.5m in dead cap over the next 2 years. If we trade him, it's $19m in dead cap.

In layman's terms the signing bonus money that whilst paid in a lump sum to Trufant, is prorated over the length of the contract. Any team that trades for him would not be liable to pick that up.

Alford on the other hand could be cut or traded this coming offseason with minimal cap implications as most of his guaranteed money within his contract has already been paid and accounted for in previous cap hits.

We need more ppl who understand the Cap to post more and break things down, so we understand why the falcons do what they’re doing sometimes.

Makes things more reasonable and based in reality than a fantasy. 

1 hour ago, since68andcounting said:

Alford had a horrible game, but Trufant has had a horrible season. I'd rather trade Tru for Peterson than Rocky. More cap friendly as well.