Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Cali-Falcon

First Falcons Game You Watched

76 posts in this topic

Unfortunately, during my childhood Los Angeles did not have a football team. It wasn't until I started playing madden that I really started following the sport. I loved to pick the Falcons because Vick was a beast and naturally I started track his stats on Sundays as well.

I am always haunted by the "first" Falcons game that I ever watched... The Katrina Bowl. This was a nightmare for any Falcons fan and of course the piece of s*** Aints made a statue to commemorate this day.

However.... I was recently watching old videos where we were at my late grandfathers house. I must've been only a few weeks old and as I'm watching, I hear Sunday night football commentary in the background. My true first game folks was Falcons vs Aints 11-24-91, where we beat them in over time. We also beat them in the playoffs that year in their house/swamp.

Not only was I thrilled that the Katrina Bowl wasn't my true first game, but also I was pumped that my destiny of becoming a Falcons fan was officially validated.

NeonDeion and Slappywhite like this

I remember vaguely us beating the 49ers in 88 I believe when nobody thought that would happen.

I definitely remember watching the season opener in 89 against the Rams when Deion fumbled and then returned a punt for a TD.

I would've been 7.

Slappywhite likes this

1974, Falcons @ Giants. Majority of my family is from the NY area so naturally they are Giants fans....but not me! My immediate family and myself had been living in GA due to my father being military. We were in NY visiting and I as a youngster was already a Falcons fan. We attended the game and the Falcons won 14-7. That game made my fandom even stronger! 

falconsrus likes this

Can't remember but I think it was during the 2007 **** show. I really started paying attention in 2008. The beginning of the Ryan era