Question to the mocker fockers

Tribal Chief

I'm sure most of you are exactly like me. Don't have a clue about most players you fall in love with until you just so happen to run into a stat or highlight that catches your eye. I can't sit back and pretend to know half of the guys you all bring up. So just in general, what type of research are you doing to find these players and how much of their highlight reel do you watch before saying "I want this man/kid/boy/dude to be a Falcon" or "he's the missing link".

What I do is go through our roster, find the biggest needs, then find the list of prospects at that position and start watching highlights. Doesn't usually take me all that long to write a guy off or get my attention. Once I get that initial feel, I will put him down on my board and come back later to dig deeper. I am just getting started for this year. 

I am nowhere near ready to make a final mock. I don't feel like you can get accurate or realistic till after the combine. 

DRAFT: 

*CBS sports to get an idea of what players are in range for a need. 

*Filter said players mentally on what I like size-wise and competition-wise (going to value a guy from Ohio state as higher than a guy from SMU).

*Look for "VS" videos of said player on youtube. (I don't start with highlights because they're a wast of time of the players is trash for 99 plays in a game a good for two). 

FA:

*Check overthecap.com for who's available. 

*Read articles on the player and apply logic. (starting pro-bowl tackle for x team on his rook contract won't leave his team for slightly more than his rook contract, etc. )

*Mash them all together in a post and wait for the wave of "He won't be available" and "he's not good" comments.......

Just dig in, roll up your sleeves & read up on nfl draft prospects & their positional rankings coming out of college.

Read their scouting reports, look at some highlight vids, then if you like them, look at specific game film.