It's About Time We Nitpick Vic.

Halsey.

Ok, I'm not trying to pretend I'm an expert on Vic Beasley, but what I do know leaves me wondering if he's really what the Falcons need from a top 10 pick. The following are some concerns and questions I have about him. Reasoned responses are welcome.

1. Is he low risk, low reward? There are clear signs he will be a good player, but I see reasons to question if he will ever be great: He was a 5 year college player who didn't 'break out' until his 3rd year. Yes, he's an impressive physical specimen, but he's also had more time to work on his training than some of the younger top prospects.

2. Most of the top pass rushers in the NFL right now are simply bigger dudes than Vic Beasley. Look at the top pass rushers in the NFL today and you will find that most of them weighed more than 250lbs at their respective Combine. People will point to Von Miller, but Miller is more the exception than the rule. There's even reason to wonder if Beasley can maintain being in the 240s. When you see him on the field he looks like a RB playing LB.

3. Will he be a liability against the run? Yes, the Falcons need to pressure QBs, but can Beasley hold up when teams run at him?

4. It appears he would be drafted to play the role that Bruce Irvin played in Seattle. Are there strong indications that he will be better than Irvin? If he brings similar value than Irvin, is that really worth a top 10 pick?

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As a massive VB supporter, some of these are valid questions and here are my responses.

1. "...He was a 5 year college player who didn't 'break out' until his 3rd year..."

He only played for 4 years and the last three is where he was very productive. This is completely normal and expected. Most of the other pass rushers have only one or two years of production. I see this as a positive.