Everybody's Biggest Gripe About Smith, Rex Has The Same Problem

Robb4242

Clock management.

Rex had as many, if not more issues with clock. Rex is an outstanding defensive coach, and if he's willing to come here as a DC, I'm all for it. But as a head coach, I really believe that we'd be taking a step backwards rather than forward by hiring him.

Quote from 12/22/14 (GangGreen):

Being aware of the game as a whole is what makes a good head coach. Adapting your game plan to counter what the opposing team is giving you, makes a good head coach. Masking your lack of talent by playing good fundamental football, is what makes you a good head coach.Rex Ryan hasn't evolved as a head coach, he's still the defensive mastermind who has no concept of clock management or offensive strategy that we saw in 2009.

Quote from 7/25/14 (NFL.com):

One successful NFC general manager told me via text message this week, "Rex is a confident guy with a big ego. When he got to the Jets, the personnel was pretty good. For some reason, their talent level has fallen off and it will most likely get him fired. How involved was he in picking the players? Plus, he attached himself to (Mark) Sanchez. I don't think he gets another (head-coaching gig). I think he ends up as a defensive coordinator."

Another NFC GM simply wondered, "Is he worth the headache? Can I sell him to my owner? And the last two years have been really rough."

Ryan has struggled with game and clock management. He is a defensive guru and coaches the game as such. He is so wrapped up in his D that he gives full autonomy to his offensive coordinator. When Brian Schottenheimer benched Santonio Holmes in the final game of the 2011 season for feuding with teammates, Rex wasn't even aware.

Quote from 9/9/13 (NY Post):

The Jets nearly lost Sunday’s game with the Buccaneers because of poor clock management, and coach Rex Ryan declined to discuss the snafus at his Monday news conference.