Question For The Golfers On This Forum

So I've decided to try to learn to play golf. I've never been on a golf course before, but I've watched a few tournaments on TV and I think I understand a lot of the terminology and rules. So do you think it would be good idea for me to take a few lessons from a golf pro or should I just schedule a tee time and just work on my technique myself. I'm not trying to play in competitive tournaments or anything, I just want to learn a new hobby that gives me something to do.

I would get a few lessons in to learn thecswing technique and then once you feel comfortable move to the drive range and work on it yourself, after a few rounds of doing that id say youd be prepared to play 9 or 18 without looking like a complete novice. You dont wanna go out there and have a hack fest diwn the course

I would get a few lessons in to learn thecswing technique and then once you feel comfortable move to the drive range and work on it yourself, after a few rounds of doing that id say youd be prepared to play 9 or 18 without looking like a complete novice. You dont wanna go out there and have a hack fest diwn the course

I would recommend this. Golf looks easy on TV, but it's not intuitive. The slightest incorrect movement in your swing will send the ball flying in the wrong direction. Lessons are important to get your swing mechanics down, learn the proper stance and way to address the ball for different shots. After that it's just practice. And don't skimp on practicing putting and chipping. It's fun to just go to the driving range and blast your driver, but the medium to short game is the tough part.

People who don't take lessons tend to get frustrated and give up. The golf swing only comes natural to 1 out of 1,000,000 people, it needs to be learned.

So, yes. Take a few lessons so you have some sort of idea of how to grip, set up, and aim. The hit at the range 1/2 dozen times before going out on the course.