The problem with UGA's O-line?

Billy Ocean

I think I know why our run-blocking has been a problem - its the guards. We have one guard with a degenerative hip (C. Davis) and the other with mono (Glenn). No wonder we have so much trouble running in between the tackles. I appreciate Davis' contribution over the past 3 years, but with that hip he could probably qualify for handicap parking. And I'm no medical expert, but I remember kids in high school being home-schooled while they had mono - not because they were contagious, but because going to school was too physically demanding. We can pass block because that doesn't require the physically dominating drive blocking that is needed with run-blocking.

Edited by Billy Ocean

first we got our unit back together after injuries just 4 days before game 1. second glenn is playing, but he needs some more time off IMO to get over his mono. i have had guys in the pass i know who were affected for a number of weeks/months after getting Mono. also chris davis can not be starting for this team. no way no how. getting trinton sturvidant back will be huge because we will move boling back inside. our tackles are find as is our center, but we need to work on the guard combo.

We have a good OL. They pass block extremely well, but they have difficulty run blocking because teams are set up to stop our run game. Mike Bobo apparently bought into the hype that Georgia could be a ram it down your throat team, but very few teams do that successfully if the defense really wants to force you to pass. Our run game uses very little (almost zero) misdirection, which means our tailbacks are just running into a mass of bodies. Once Aaron gets established as a good scrambler/passer, the run game will open up. Until we do that, we'll continue to have trouble running, IMO.