Retractable roof for the GA Dome?

dmite

In an effort to keep the Falcons downtown, the state legislature this winter passed an extension of the hotel-motel tax used to pay down debt on the Dome, which was built in 1992.

That tax sunsets in 2020, but the extension will keep collections rolling to 2050 to be used for any expansion of the Dome or a new facility. The extension only applies to facilities that are on the GWCC campus, however.

Sorta reminds me of the GA-400 tolls that were supposed to be gone after the road was paid for.

Wouldn't the renovations be less expensive than building a whole new stadium??

Sometimes renovations can be more expensive that tearing everything down and building from scratch.

I'm not an engineer but I don't think The Dome is structurally designed to support a retractable roof and the equipment needed to make the roof retractable.

They have to keep the Dome safe while still being able to withstand extreme weather. After all the Dome was hit by a Tornado.

Sometimes renovations can be more expensive that tearing everything down and building from scratch.

I'm not an engineer but I don't think The Dome is structurally designed to support a retractable roof and the equipment needed to make the roof retractable.

They have to keep the Dome safe while still being able to withstand extreme weather. After all the Dome was hit by a Tornado.

I understand what you're saying, but with the engineering and technological advances that have come to light since the Dome was originally built, I'm sure they could retrofit it for a retractable roof and do so safely.

An expanded Georgia Dome of the future could have a retractable roof, twice its current number of club seats and 15,000 parking spaces compared to 5,500 now.

It might also bear the name of a corporate sponsor.