Meeting players

jes2400

I've been a Falcon fan for years, but because of finances and distance,I don't get to meet many Falcons. That'll change this year when I attend my 1st game. When I was young, I did get to meet Billy "White Shoes" Johnson. I was a little kid, it was great. Some other stars I got to meet, Charlie Chris, playing for the Hawks at the time, came to my uncle's house for Thanksgiving. We wen't to my uncle's in Atlanta almost every Thanksgiving. most of my star meeting luck has been with wrestlers. I've met Dusty Rhodes, Terry Taylor, Arn Anderson, Meng, Larry Zabisko. What Falcons have you met, and what other celebs have you met?

Guest Gritz

Just a few weeks ago I got to meet Thomas DeCoud and Todd Weiner. I actually got to talk with DeCoud for a while. Great attitude, loves being a Falcon, wasn't close to being satisfied with his performance last year....

Todd....very humble...soft-spoken guy...

Being an illustrator I have worked for the Hawks, Falcons and Braves over the years....Got to meet and spend some time with Glanville.....very funny guy, called me "pod-nah" the whole time. Bobby Cox, very nice guy, but very liberal when it comes to the cussing. I had barely met him and within 5 minutes at least 3 or 4 cuss words come flying out....and he was happy....Mike Fratello.....Hawks and TBS hired me to do the retirement portrait of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, so I got to meet and spend some time with Jabbar before the game....very cool guy.

My favorite professional athlete I have ever met?

Kevin Johnson, former point guard for the Phoenix Suns....long story how we met, but I did a portrait of him....he dug it big time...We met before a Hawks game. We actually corresponded a couple of times after that. Kevin is currently the mayor of Sacramento, California. Incredible life story.