Jump to content

Awards from Georgia's End-of-Year Gala.


Recommended Posts

Awards from Georgia's End-of-Year Gala

Georgia's annual end-of-year gala was held tonight, and here's a quick rundown of the winners:

Wide receiver A.J. Green was named the team's most valuable offensive player. Green was an All-SEC selection after catching 47 passes for 751 yards, despite missing three games.

Kicker Blair Walsh and punter Drew Butler shared the award for top special teams player. Both players were finalists for national awards, and Butler was named an All-American while leading the nation in punting average.

Defensive tackle Geno Atkins won the award as the team's most valuable defensive player. Atkins had 33 tackles and 9.5 for a loss with 27 QB hurries this season.

Junior linebacker Rennie Curran won the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award as Georgia's top overall performer. Curran led the SEC with 122 tackles -- his second straight season with more than 100 takedowns.

Other award winners included Jeff Owens, who earned the David Jacobs Award for courage and determination. Quarterback Joe Cox was named the team's permanent overall captain, while senior Mike Moore was named the offensive team captain, Owens and Curran were named defensive co-captains and senior Prince Miller was named the special teams captain.

Moore also won the Leon Farmer Award, given annually for the player who exhibits the most dedication in strength and conditioning. Tight end Derek Rich and center Ben Reynolds won honors as the top offensive scout teamers, defensive end Reuben Faloughi and defensive tackle Kwame Geathers won scout team honors on defense and linebackers Cameron Allen and Jackson Griffeth earned scout team awards on special teams.

The most improved player awards went to sophomore tight end Aron White, who caught 11 passes for 172 yards and two touchdowns this season, safety Reshad Jones, who had 68 tackles and two interceptions, and returner Brandon Boykin, who set a school record with 881 return yards and two kick returns for touchdowns.

Newcomer of the year awards went to receiver Tavarres King and tailback Washaun Ealey on offense, safety Bacarri Rambo and defensive tackle Abry Jones on defense and Branden Smith and Shawn Williams on special teams. A

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...