Darren Sharper might be a Falcon ...

Re-signing tackle John St. Clair is the Bears' top priority. Finding a free safety would be next on the list.

Another option got taken off the board when Tampa Bay re-signed Jermaine Phillips. He was the one veteran safety best suited for the Bears' system.

Darren Sharper said he has an interest in the Bears, but don't expect him to land in Chicago. According to sources, the Bears' interest in Sharper is not mutual. Look for Sharper to end up in either New Orleans or Atlanta.

Falcons' general manager Thomas Dimitroff has said that he wants his team to get younger, but Sharper plays younger than his age implies and he could also provide much needed leadership and experience on what is quickly becoming a very young Atlanta defense.

Sharper is a free safety by trade, but he appears to have the versatility that Dimitroff is looking for in his safeties. He has excellent coverage skills as his 54 career interceptions can attest, but he is also strong in run support with good recognition skills and tackling technique.

His tackles did not decline in '08 (69), but his interception totals did. He finished the season with only one interception, but he did have five passes defensed.

If we get him he's going to compete for the job, but it doesn't necessarily mean he'll get it. Either way it's good for us because he and Colemen can anchor all the DB's as far as leadership. If he were to win the job, great; and if not he'd be nasty on ST and possibly in the dime.

If we signed him there would be far less posts about filling holes in FA and lack of leadership, and that would be great because we could just talk about the upcoming draft.

i dont know where you people are getting the coverage skills bit..