Logo. Switching to old bird make sense?

tikibar

Why does EVERYONE try to relate Vick and the new logo/team look? That is rediculous.

The Falcons did the same as most the other teams in the league - updated their look to accomodate the times.

I work in marketing and I see exactly why they updated the logo - the old one looks like it is from the 60s...

The new logo and uniforms look great to me. I would like to maybe see them wear red-helmets as an alternate though.

Jim Caldwell (1/15/2008)
Why does EVERYONE try to relate Vick and the new logo/team look? That is rediculous.

The Falcons did the same as most the other teams in the league - updated their look to accomodate the times.

I work in marketing and I see exactly why they updated the logo - the old one looks like it is from the 60s...

The new logo and uniforms look great to me. I would like to maybe see them wear red-helmets as an alternate though.

It probably has something to do with him being the face of the Falcons and we switched to the new UNI's the year after he started and we went to the playoffs.

How many highlights do we have of OTHER players making plays and winning games in these UNI's and logos?

How many highlights do we have of Vick making plays and winning game?

It's called repetition. Personally, most of the highlights I've seen with these UNI's have had Vick in them. Therefore I associate these uni's and logo to the Vick era, (because that was part of management's plan).

But that isn't the case. Look around the league - around the year 2000 a lot of teams updated their logo around the same time. Just as the NFL, ESPN, SI and everyone else updated their looks.

Most larger companies even update their logos slighly throughout the years to make the logo look up to date.

Go to this site - http://www.sportslogos.net/team.php?id=173

You will see the progress of all the logos for every team.