Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

cabinettags

coach petrino

8 posts in this topic

i'm not a huge football fan; but as a louisville resident i follow my cardinals. howard schnellenberger got us started - got our stadium built. he turned us from sand lot into a football team. ron followed him and wasn't great. then came smith, from out west, and we moved up another notch. smith left for a big name college and we got an assistant for a head coach; bobby petrino. that's when things started to click. took a few seasons. last year we took the orange bowl, and i was hoping for a shot at the national championship this year. that won't happen now; the falcons got our coach. i'm happy for him. coaching the pro's is what he always wanted. but i wish we had him back. right now, bobby has his hands full and a soup sandwich to deal with. i've got 3 points: rome wasn't built in a day. keep the faith. and we'll take him back in a heatbeat if you're foolish enough to let him go. you want to take the superbowl? you got the right guy at the helm. give him what he wants. it pays.

excellent post. in this day and age where coaches are fired ad nauseum, it will be nice if mr blank gives coach petrino the time to build this team. i certainly hope he does.

arthur blank is an intellginet man. he knows the importnace of having continuity in the front office, coaching staff and on the roster. he emphasised the importnace of continuity several times during our coaching search last year.

in short, arthur blank will give coach petrino every opportunity to turn things around and to succeed here.

i think petrino will succeed when he gets his players. this is a huge transition from a cut blocking running game with a college style qb to a pro style offense.