Is it illegal to refuse to rent to a registered child sex offender

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
46 replies to this topic

#41 kicker

kicker

Veteran Falcon

• Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,015 posts

Posted 28 December 2009 - 11:11 PM

View PostLord Dark Helmet, on 28 December 2009 - 05:02 AM, said:

Yeah, sorry it just does not work that way. He might tell you that's what happened. But no court in America works that way. I was a cop for 10 years. Sounds like your friend had major evidence against him. But he tells a different story to cover his actions.
Exactly.

Thanks for saving me a lengthy reply.

#42 terryowens__

terryowens__

Starting Lineup

• Banned Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,642 posts

Posted 29 December 2009 - 03:48 AM

View PostAcworthFalcFan, on 28 December 2009 - 11:08 AM, said:

Sorry, this whole "it's my property so I can do whatever I want with it" doesn't hold up when you're using it as a public accommodation.

Not quite.

In Georgia, the "I can rent to whoever I want" basically applies if you own and occupy a unit in your own quad, or you own no more than 3 single family properties.  Hence the difference between a "business" for profit and an individual who rents a few personal properties I assume.

Per the Landlord Tenant Handbook for Georgia with respect to Fair Housing Laws....

Discrimination can take many forms. It can be as direct as a refusal to rent because the applicant is a person of color, disabled, of a certain religion, from another country or because the person has children. Discrimination can also be indirect. For example, the apartment complex rule may not appear to be discriminatory on its face but it may be applied in such a way that a protected group suffers more harshly from the rule. If the owner does not have a legitimate business reason for the rule, it may be found discriminatory.

Clear examples of discriminatory conduct include: